IMG_4481.JPG

I am by no manner or means a full time or published author, although, it is a definitive goal of mine.

Instead, I commute to work 5 days a week, working varying shift patterns & deal with a huge amount of responsibility on a daily basis. I deal with all kinds of people, which can be enjoyable or not, depending on whom you are dealing with and, perhaps, what mood I am in on that particular day. I do this, because it’s my career. I’ve worked extremely hard at it, but, my main reasons for the daily grind, are to provide for & to generate a comfortable lifestlye for my family.

Writing is a passion of mine, it always has been. I’ve written hundreds of short stories, articles and screenplays, all unpublished, unless they’re published on my blog.

It’s difficult to describe the feeling that you get when you’re infront of the Mac, battering your ideas away at the keyboard. I have often wondered & dreamed of a career as a published writer.

Why haven’t I pursued it?
Something got in my way.

There is always an excuse not to do something. Work, chores, errands, walking the dog, washing the car or important things like, laying on the couch. But, the truth is, those are your daily rituals and routines. They won’t go away and will never stop.

I quickly learned, that if those were the only things stopping me pursing my writing career, then, I may as well throw the Mac out of the window, burn everything I’d ever written and smash my head against the drywall, in a bid to help me rid myself of my desire to write.

So, I pledged to myself.

I will find time to write and share on my blog, I’ll complete the unfinished screenplays and I will start that novel, the one I’ve been thinking of for 10 years.

I will write & I will become published.

Until then though, I’ll still go to work. The chores will be complete. The errands will be ran. The dog will get walked, the car will be clean, I can still lay on the couch & a thousand and one other things will still get done.

What’s stopping you?

